The Birchmont

The Birchmont is a 6-day amateur match-play tournament held Monday - Saturday in late July. Qualifying is Monday and Tuesday, and matches start on Wednesday. There are divisions for all level of golfers.

The Vandersluis

The Vandersluis Memorial Golf Tournament is an amateur golf tournament open to the public and held each year over Labor Day Weekend. The 54th Annual Vandersluis Tournament will be held September 4th - 6th, 2021.

The Vandersluis Memorial Golf Tournament

Our event has an international field with a limit of 160 players with divisions for Men, Senior Men and Ladies. Our Men's Championship is particularly strong with many of the past champions (including 1996 British Open Champion Tom Lehman) going on to successful professional and amateur careers. The format provides top competition for players of all ability.


Men's Champ: Andrew Israelson Staples, MN -6
Women's Champ: Pam Johnson, Bemidji, MN
Sr Mens Champ: Jerry Nick Okmulgee, OK +6
Masters Champ: Bob Paine Bemidji, MN, +16


There are 6 different divisions that players can enter:

  • Sr. Men's Champ - Open to men age 50 and over
  • Master's Champ - Open to men age 65 and over
  • Men's Regular flight - Open to men age 19 and over
  • Sr Men's Regular flight - Open to men age 50 and over
  • Ladies Regular flight - Open to ladies age 19 and over


The Men's Championship, Senior Men's Championship and Master's Championship plays 54 holes stroke play, 18 each on Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

Men's Regular, Senior Men's Regular and Ladies' Regular play a qualifying round on Saturday and then are flighted based on their score. These regular flights then play an 18-hole match on Sunday. On Monday all regular flight players play a 9-hole match with the winners playing the second 9 to determine the winner, runner-up, and consolation.

Registration & Entry

Registration details will be posted closer to the event date. The 2021 entry fee is $165 for all regular divisions and $185 for Men's Champs, Senior Champs and Master’s Division. The entry includes three rounds of golf and a Sunday night dinner.

Confirmed Entrants

Entrant names will be posted after registration of the 2021 event.

Division# of EntrantsRounds PostedLast Post Date
54 Holes Stroke Play Competition
Mens Champ787809/07/20 2:15 PM
Sr Mens Champ303009/09/20 2:34 PM
Masters101009/07/20 4:54 PM
Ladies Regular161609/05/20 10:33 PM
18 Holes Qualifying Score for Match Play
Mens Regular323209/05/20 8:31 PM
Sr Mens Regular121209/05/20 10:32 PM

1Adam Van RadenChad Skarperud6567132300
2Andrew IsraelsonNate Deziel6469133200
3Cody CookBrandon Nelson7064134150
4Matt HaugstadDanny Menton6868136100
5Zach IsraelsonMark Maynard696813750
6Ethan KnudsonBrandon McGarry6969138
7Jeff PeltierMatt Troumbly6871139
8Brennan HockmanAaron Schnathorst6971140
8Curt HowardJerry Nick6971140
10Toby PalmiscnoJeff Cannon6973142
10Drew GumliaJack Buan7270142

2019Chris CurbJeff WiltseGlen Hasselberg
2018Chad SkarperudJT JohnsonLee Petersen
2017Josh BergrudBruce HeglandGlen Hasselberg
2016Will CzehJeff WiltseGlen Hasselberg
2015Toby PalmiscnoCurt HowardGlen Hasselberg
2014Tom JenkinsJeff WiltseGlen Hasselberg
2013Tom JenkinsCurt Howard
2012Tom JenkinsCurt Howard
2011Bruce HeglandRay Sauer
2010Chris CurbJeff Wiltse
2009Tom JenkinsRay Sauer
2008Tom JenkinsRoss Kvittem
2007Bruce HeglandBruce Simenson
2006Tom JenkinsJoe Mayer
2005Tom JenkinsRay Sauer
2004Andy BrinkTom Peterka
2003Mike BergRay Sauer
2002Tom JenkinsGlen Hasselberg
2001Steve ChesleyGerry Douglas
2000Bob BrinkJoe Mayer
1999Rick PassoltPat Vincelli
1998Bob BrinkJoe Mayer
1997Jim StrandemoPat Vincelli
1996Bob BrinkBob O'Neill
1995Andy BrinkBob O'Neill
1994Jim StrandemoBob Harris
1993Bob CavanaghBob O'Neill
1992Curt HowardBob O'Neill
1991Russ SimensonBob O'Neill
1990Russ SimensonBob Harris
1989Bob CavanaghLarry Perkins
1988Russ SimensonLarry Perkins
1987Bob CavanaghLarry Perkins
1986Glen HasselbergLarry Perkins
1985Tom ZiemannTed Baddely
1984Charlie CavanaghAl Jensen
1983Glen HasselbergKen Toland
1982Jay SwansonBob Brothen
1981Dave MontebelloRed Hardy
1980Ray SauerAl Jensen
1979Tom LehmanBob Brothen
1978Miles PrestemonBob Brothen
1977Ray SauerBob Brothen
1976Larry PerkinsBill Blenker
1975Ed SauerSkip Peterson
1974Bill IsraelsonBob Brothen
1973John HarrisNot Held
1972Ed DemeryBill Blenker
1971Bob HarrisBob Brothen
1970Joe HasbrouckBob Brothen
1969Brian EgersdorfHal Peterson
1968Gerry DouglasBob Brothen
1967Gerry DouglasBob Hyde
YearMen's ChampWomens' Champ
1966Brian EgersdorfJody Gumlia
1965Dave GumliaJody Gumlia
1964Dave GumliaCarol Wilson
1963Keith SpindlerJody Gumlia
1962Keith BridstonCarol Vandersluis
1961Bob HarrisJan Ecklund
1960Dave GumliaBev Vanstrum
1959Ted HomenuikMarge Homenuik
1958Glenn FleischJody Gumlia

Prior to 1967 the tournament was called the "Founder's Day Tournament"